Skip to main content
Pain / PainTrainingTherapy

Manage your stress and improve your performance

By 2015-06-22July 9th, 2015No Comments

It's not unusual to hear about an athlete getting sick two weeks before their biggest competition of the year. In therapy we often see an athlete experiencing old pain during periods of more intense training, without having had a new trauma. Why is this? It all has to do with our ability to tolerate stress.

In the next few articles we will explore the concept of stress qualification and how you can better manage your stresses to optimize the results of your workouts.

When cumulative stresses exceed our tolerance threshold, we will feel the effects where we have a pre-existing fault line, even if the stress is not localized there.

In order to elaborate, we will qualify stresses in five main categories: physical, mental, immune, environmental and symbolic.

Physical stress

This category includes stresses related to training, physical work, sleep deficits and jet lag. The majority of these stresses are modifiable and controllable by the athlete and predictable by the coach.

Mental stress

The stress of learning, the stress of exams, or the stress of planning a big project - these are all mental stresses. When we choose to deal with such stresses, we are mobilizing some of our limited reserves.

Immune stress

We experience immune stress when we are fighting an illness, but also if our daily lives bring us into contact with the public, especially children and the sick. A nurse or doctor cannot afford the same level of physical stress as a full-time athlete because they need to keep a reserve of energy to deal with the immune stresses of their job.

Environmental stress

Training in intense heat or cold depletes our reserves more than the same training in a more temperate environment. If we are exposed to volatile solvents or chemicals on a regular basis in the course of our work, this can also be considered an environmental stress and must be compensated for in the planning of the training.

Lymbic stress

This stress is the only stress that is almost completely self-inflicted. It is the emotional stress that we create in our relationships with each other and with ourselves. Ideas that torment us, worries and anxieties are part of this category.

Buckets(FR)-01

The stresses are interrelated

Although we can categorize stresses into our five types, our bodies use roughly the same limited reserves to cope with these stresses. We can imagine the stress management system as a network of interconnected reservoirs. The fluid that fills the reservoirs is the stress we are currently experiencing and the space remaining before the reservoir overflows can be thought of as our capacity to tolerate further stress.

If you add stress to the lymbic reservoir, the level of all reservoirs rises, reducing the capacity to tolerate additional physical (training) stress. For example, we see such effects during training camps where, as a result of high levels of physical stress, athletes are less tolerant of emotional stress and sometimes find themselves reacting inappropriately to innocuous situations.

If you are preparing for a competition or want to increase the volume of your training, you need to manage not only the physical stresses of training, but also the other categories of stress so that you do not exceed your overall stress tolerance limits.

Sébastien Boucher for the HPH Sports Clinic

Make an appointment with me

Gérez votre stress et améliorer vos performances

by SebBoucher on 2015-06-22 Comments Off on Gérez votre stress et améliorer vos performances

Quand les stress cumulatifs dépassent notre seuil de tolérance, nous en ressentirons les effets là ou nous avons une faille préexistante, même si le stress n’y est pas localisé.

Afin d’élaborer, nous allons qualifier les stress en cinq grandes catégories: le stress physique, mental, immunitaire, environnemental et lymbique.

Le stress physique

Cette catégorie inclut les stress reliés à l’entraînement, le travail physique, les deficits de sommeil et le décalage horaire. La majorité de ces stress sont modifiables et contrôlables par l’athlète et prévisibles par l’entraîneur.

Le stress mental

Le stress d’apprentissage, le stress qui provient d’une période d’examens, ou bien de la planification d’un grand projet — ce sont tous des stress d’ordre mental. Quand nous choisissons de faire face à de tels stress, nous mobilisons une partie de nos réserves limitées.

Le stress immunitaire

Nous faisons face au stress immunitaire quand nous combattons une maladie, mais aussi si notre vie quotidienne nous mets en contact avec le publique, particulièrement les enfants et les malades. Une garde-malade ou un médecin ne peux pas se permettre le même taux de stress physique qu’un athlète à temps plein car ils se doivent de garder une réserve d’énergie pour faire face aux stress immunitaires de leur travail.

Le stress environnemental

Les entraînements sous la chaleur ou le froid intense grugent nos réserves plus que les mêmes entraînements dans un environnement plus tempéré. Si nous sommes exposés à des solvents volatiles ou des produits chimiques régulièrement dans le cours de notre travail, ceci peut aussi être considéré comme un stress environmental et doit être compensé lors de la planification de l’entraînement.

Le stress lymbique

Ce stress est le seul des stress qui est presque complètement auto-infligé. C’est le stress émotionnel que nous créons lors de nos relations interpersonnelles et avec nous-mêmes. Les idées qui nous tourmentent, les inquiétudes et les anxiétés font partie de cette catégorie.

Buckets(FR)-01

Les stress sont interreliés

Bien que nous pouvons catégoriser les stress dans nos cinq types, notre corps utilise grossièrement les mêmes réserves limitées pour faire face à ces stress. Nous pouvons imaginer le système de gestion du stress comme un réseau de réservoirs interreliés. Le liquide qui rempli les réservoirs est le stress que nous subissons présentement et l’espace restant avant que le réservoir déborde peut être conçu comme notre capacité de tolérance au stress supplémentaire.

Si vous ajoutez du stress dans le réservoir lymbique, le niveau de tous les réservoirs monte, réduisant la capacité de tolérance de stress physique (entraînement) supplémentaire. Par exemple, nous voyons de tel effets lors de camps d’entraînement ou, suite à un niveau élevé de stress physique, les athlètes sont moins tolérants aux stress émotionnels et se retrouvent parfois à réagir de façon inapproprié à des situations anodines.

Si vous vous préparez pour une compétition ou si vous voulez augmenter le volume de votre entraînement, il vous faut gérer non seulement le stress physique relié à l’entraînement, mais aussi les autres catégories de stress afin de ne pas dépasser vos limites globales de tolérance au stress.

Sébastien Boucher pour la Clinique Sportive HPH

Prenez rendez-vous avec moi

SebBoucherGérez votre stress et améliorer vos performances